A Life Worth Living by Nancy Buxton

Have I Told You?

I know I haven’t told you that I am a. . .well, a. . .a… a… a bargain hunter.  I love a good deal.  I clip coupons and I use them.  I even file my coupons and I have stacks of them.  I have been known to dig through the recycling bin to find just the right coupon.  It is a little embarrassing when someone recognizes me.  On day a lady even expressed her sympathy for my having to do this because of the economy.  I didn’t tell her I don’t HAVE to do it, I like to do it, any way I don’t have to yet. If I worked for AIG and got one of their fat bonuses I would never have to do it.

Here it is, right here in print, I am a CVS and Walgreen’s junkie!  I find really great buys at both of these stores combining my coupons and the weekly specials.

I want to give you some ideas on how to save money at the grocery store, here goes:

1.  Look at the weekly ads online or in the newspaper before you go to the store.  This way you can match your clipped coupons with the specials.

2.  Combine online printable and clipped coupons with specials.  There are even bloggers who blog what special and what coupon works best.

3.  This is a hard one for me!  Make a meal plan.  Start by going through your cupboards and fridge to know what you have on hand.  You do save money by using everything you have and not throwing away any thing.

4.  Another hard one.  Shop at several stores.  Each store has good deals try taking advantage of each special, if it is not miles out of the way.

5.  Don’t impulse buy.  If you make a list you will know exactly what you need and don’t buy any thing more.  Make it a game.

6.  Watch your sizes!  The price is broken down by price per unit sometimes the larger size is the best buy but not always.

I wish I would have been more frugal years ago, we would have a little more savings but live and learn.  Actually, I believe it is my responsibility to take care of the money God has given me. Dave Ramsay has a saying, “live like know one else today so you can live like know one else later.”  You see giving back is the fun thing about having a little extra money.   Oh I feel another blog subject coming on.  I think it will be called living without debt

 

Comments on: "Have I Told You?" (3)

  1. Interesting blog, I’ll try and spread the word.

  2. I love saving money too, I hope you will do more with this subject.

  3. I just want to let you know that I have benefited from the information here. Thanks a lot.

Leave a comment